July 17, 2018
Election disclosure law signed
SACRAMENTO - (INT) - Governor Brown signed another 28 bills and vetoed two others Sunday. He has until October 15th to clear his desk.

The governor signed into law the landmark California DISCLOSE Act (AB 249), the nation’s most comprehensive election disclosure law.

The bill requires ballot measure ads and independent expenditure ads for or against candidates to clearly and prominently disclose the identity of their top three funders, and includes first-in-the-nation follow-the-money rules to make ballot measure ads show their true funders.

• AB 20 by Assemblymember Ash Kalra (D-San Jose) – Public employee retirement systems: divestment: Dakota Access Pipeline.
• AB 153 by Assemblymember Rocky Chαvez (R-Oceanside) – Military fraud.
• AB 307 by Assemblymember Brian Maienschein (R-San Diego) – Allocation of principal or income.
• AB 314 by Assemblymember Kevin Mullin (D-South San Francisco) – Dating service contracts: online services.
• AB 363 by Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva (D-Fullerton) – Driver’s licenses: veteran designation.
• AB 494 by Assemblymember Richard H. Bloom (D-Santa Monica) – Land use: accessory dwelling units.
• AB 500 by Assemblymember Richard H. Bloom (D-Santa Monica) – Employee codes of conduct: employee interactions with pupils.
• AB 597 by Assemblymember Mark Stone (D-Scotts Valley) – Child abuse and neglect: information: computerized database system.
• AB 670 by Assemblymember Tony Thurmond (D-Richmond) – Classified employees: part-time playground positions.
• AB 828 by Assemblymember Jay P. Obernolte (R-Big Bear Lake) – Civil actions: fee recovery.
• AB 1197 by Assemblymember Monique Limόn (D-Santa Barbara) – Oil spill contingency plans: spill management teams.
• AB 1223 by Assemblymember Anna Caballero (D-Salinas) – Construction contract payments: Internet Web site posting.
• AB 1229 by Assemblymember Evan Low (D-Campbell) – Healing arts: Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians of the State of California.
• AB 1384 by Assemblymember Shirley N. Weber (D-San Diego) – Victims of violent crimes: trauma recovery centers.
• AB 1646 by Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi (D-Torrance) – Hazardous materials: unified program agency: integrated alerting and notification system.
• AB 1647 by Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi (D-Torrance) – Petroleum refineries: air monitoring systems.
• AB 1649 by Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi (D-Torrance) – Oil refineries: public safety.
• AB 1710 by the Committee on Veterans Affairs – Prohibited discrimination against service members.
• AB 1718 by the Committee on Revenue and Taxation – Property taxation: leach pads, tailing facilities, and settling ponds: base year value: separate appraisal.
• SB 20 by Senator Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo) – Vehicles: buses: seatbelts.
• SB 229 by Senator Bob Wieckowski (D-Fremont) – Accessory dwelling units.
• SB 339 by Senator Richard D. Roth (D-Riverside) – Veterans treatment courts: Judicial Council assessment and survey.
• SB 728 by Senator Josh Newman (D-Fullerton) – State public employees: sick leave: veterans with service-related disabilities.
• SB 731 by Senator Josh Newman (D-Fullerton) – Public school employees: former or current members of the Armed Forces of the United States or California National Guard: leave of absence for illness or injury.
• SB 752 by Senator Jeff E. Stone (R-Temecula) – Pharmacy: designated representative-reverse distributors.
• SB 776 by Senator Josh Newman (D-Fullerton) – Corrections: veterans’ benefits.
• SB 796 by Senator Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo) – Uniform Standards: Naturopathic Doctors Act: Respiratory Care Practice Act.
• SB 812 by the Committee on Governance and Finance – Property taxation: tax-defaulted property sales: minimum price.

The Governor also announced that he has vetoed the following bills:

• AB 621 by Assemblymember Raul Bocanegra (D-Pacoima) – Classified employees: Classified School Employees Summer Furlough Fund.
• SB 42 by Senator Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo) – Public lands: Martins Beach: property acquisition.
Story Date: October 9, 2017
Canyon Crest Towne Centre
Color Cube Productions
East Hills Community Church